Mmm, what do you say?

Oh, that you only meant well
Well, of course you did
Mmm, what do you say?
Mmm, that it’s all for the best
Of course it is

I’ve been hearing an interesting song every now and then, on the radio and on TV shows, but I’d never really looked to see who it was. It’s a capella, performed with a vocoder distorting some of the voices. Last night’s Saturday Night Live featured am otherwise forgettable digital short* that used the song so I finally broke down and looked it up. It was Imogen Heap’s song “Hide and Seek”. (I used to have the video embedded here but the person who uploaded it has disabled embedding so go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cpSv2mNhhc to view it.)

It’s a great song — sounds a little like Laurie Anderson’s O Superman (from 1981).

As I was listening to it, I thought she sounded familiar. When I saw her name, I realized why she sounded familiar. McFly’s “Star Girl” single CD included a U-MYX version of the song that you could play around with (U-MYX is a very cool bit of software that allows you to create your own mix of a song from the various tracks available). I wish more bands offered mixable versions of at least one of their tunes. Anyway, the U-MYX site includes a video showing you a realtime mixing session, to demonstrate what you can do with the software. The song used is Imogen’s “Headlock”. Here’s the U-MYX video:

And here’s the official video for the song:

* OK. I take back that “otherwise forgettable” comment about the SNL digital short. After having seen a clip of the season 2 finale of The OC, I get it. So sue me — I’m not an OC fan.

** Added April 17: NBC has exterted its muscle and gotten the digital short clip removed from Youtube (though they haven’t yet put it on their own site) and the uploader of the OC finale clip has made it a private video. So, I’ve removed the links from here.

One thought on “Mmm, what do you say?

Leave a Reply

