Speaking of birds

A couple of years ago, I was sitting here at the computer. The sun was going down and I could see a flock of crows outside from the corner of my eye. I didn’t pay much attention to it at first. But the movements kept up. I finally got up and went out on the balcony to see what was going on.

What was going on was bizarre. I’d never seen it before and I’ve never seen it since. And I haven’t been able to find any information about this particular crow behaviour anywhere on the Web. A massive flock of crows was doing half donuts around my building at about the level of my apartment building. They would first go around in one direction and, after a few minutes, would come back around the other way. I’m not talking about a couple of crows or even a couple of dozen. I’m talking about at least a hundred. The most bizarre parts of the whole thing are that (a) they kept it up for about 45 minutes, long after it was pitch dark outside, and (b) they were flying in absolute silence. Anyone who’s seen crows at dawn or dusk knows they are a noisy, rowdy lot. This was surreal. I only managed to capture about 9 seconds of footage (no audio) of them (I didn’t have enough memory in my digital camera at the time to capture much more than that and I didn’t think about using the camera, which was very new to me at the time, until near the end) but if you watch the footage, you can see the dark flying shapes against the lights of the cars on the roadway below.

Leave a Reply

