Law of Attraction

I get e-mails periodically from ConsciousOne, opt-in spam type e-mails. (Spam = bad; opt-in spam = good.) A recent one advertised a special live book launch VIP party tonight for James Arthur Ray‘s new book, Harmonic Wealth. It’s a free webcast so I registered for it — free is almost always good. (I was going to say “always good” but I can picture some freebies that would be Not Good.)

So, anyway, while reading about James Ray and his book, I came across mention of the 2006 movie “The Secret“. I haven’t watched the full thing yet but the trailer is slick; very well-produced. The full movie is free to watch online (have you sensed a trend in my thinking this week?) so I’ll probably watch it, but it’s interesting to see the various viewpoints expressed by people about it and the Law of Attraction. People seem to range from an almost cult-like obsession and adherence to complete skepticism and derision. I suspect most people fall somewhere in the middle where it’s an interesting concept that you’re both skeptical of and open-minded about (to varying degrees). That’s where I am, anyway. I fully believe that your attitude in any situation is important but, let’s face it, having a good attitude isn’t going to stop bad things from happening to you. But my own experiences have shown me that, given the choice between indulging negative energy and embodying positive energy, the latter is the only thing that stands a chance of actually being a benefit to you.

The real lesson in all this? I should probably watch Oprah (and Ellen) more often. 😉

Speaking of Oprah, I see in the Spirit and Self section of her Web site that she has a webcast series called Oprah’s Soul Series in which she talks to spiritual thinkers and authors. Damn, she’s got a lot of stuff on her site. This is how people lose time — they get lost while browsing other peoples’ Web sites.

3 thoughts on “Law of Attraction

  1. Well, I do not see TV in English anymore because all those reality shows. But I did read the book and basically they tell you what the Bible told everyone else. You have to be in peace with your self and if you are happy and positive there is not question about it, you will attract alike. Like money attract money, and women attract women. Everybody knows that.

    I had change my ways since I read this book and I tell you, I feel pretty good about my self. I will feel a whole lot better when I can master the English language. And that’s why I’m reading a lot so it (English) can stick in my head and have a decent conversation with an anglo-friend.

    Read the book! It will do good to you..

  2. Oprah’s 4 interviews with Jill Bolte Taylor were the first that Oprah did after Eckhart Tolle and they take everything Tolle talks about to another level. Oprah’s copy of Jill’s book, MY STROKE OF INSIGHT, was dog-eared and all marked up and kept reading from it the way she read from A New Earth and recommended it highly.

    Oprah’s recommendation was enough for me. I read My Stroke of Insight and I loved it too. This story is as inspiring as The Last Lecture or Tuesdays with Morrie – and even better, it has a Happy Ending!

    I bought the book on Amazon because they have it for 40% off retail and they also had an amazing interview with Dr Taylor that I haven’t seen anywhere else – go to Amazon and type in Jill Bolte Taylor

  3. I read “My Stroke of Insight” in one sitting – I couldn’t put it down. I laughed. I cried. It was a fantastic book (I heard it’s a NYTimes Bestseller and I can see why!), but I also think it will be the start of a new, transformative Movement! No one wants to have a stroke as Jill Bolte Taylor did, but her experience can teach us all how to live better lives. Her TED.com speech was one of the most incredibly moving, stimulating, wonderful videos I’ve ever seen. Her Oprah Soul Series interviews were fascinating. They should make a movie of her life so everyone sees it. This is the Real Deal and gives me hope for humanity.

Leave a Reply

