Nostalgic journey through my musical past

Listening to that Star Wars song got me nostalgic for the Jurassic Park theme (more so today after yesterday’s sad news) so I went to iTunes. Where I subsequently decided that I couldn’t possibly just buy the Jurassic Park theme so I went in search for other soundtrack music that I missed.

Leonard Rosenman was one of my favourite composers of the 70s and 80s. Somewhere in my parents’ basement I have an album copy of his 1978 “Lord of the Rings” soundtrack, from the animated movie. I was reading Tolkien for the first time myself around the time so it holds a fond spot in my heart. As luck would have it, iTunes has it so into the shopping cart it goes, as does the ending theme to Star Trek IV, also composed by him (and very similar in feel to his “Lord of the Rings” theme — I can remember making my then-boyfriend hang around after the movie in 1986 to watch the credits because I had to prove to him that I’d recognized the composer from the theme.) So now I’m deeply ensconced in the music. Probably not a smart idea, given that I should be going to bed, not listening to rousing battle marches and grand movie themes. But this is the music that makes me wish our lives had soundtracks. (I suspect that’s partly what makes iPods and Walkmans and all other forms of personal audio such popular items.)

One of the songs on the “Lord of the Rings” soundtrack is called “Mithrandir”, an ode to Gandalf. The album didn’t have any lyrics for the tune and for years I’ve been singing it completely wrong to myself. LOL The real lyrics are:

Let the night never cease to call you
Let the day nevermore be the same
Though you’ve gone where we cannot find you
In each heart you have set your name

Mithrandir far you wander
And long may your name be sung
Through kingdoms of starlight
And realms of the sun
Mithrandir though you’re hidden
We’re still guided by your light
You’re walking beside us
A friend in the night

We were lost when the dark descended
And the light gathered into a storm
You appeared like a sunlit morning
At the winds of a world at war

Mithrandir far you wander
And long may your name be sung
Through kingdoms of starlight
And realms of the sun
Mithrandir though you’re hidden
We’re still guided by your light
You’re walking beside us
A friend in the night

Mithrandir rising through the shadow
Like a star shining deep in its home
You will dwell in our hearts forever
Nevermore will we stand alone

I won’t tell you what I was singing, but it was much less poetic.

I’m sad to see that Leonard Rosenman died earlier this year. I didn’t even know.

That got me thinking about other music I missed. One song that I miss is John Tesh’s “A Thousand Summers”. It was a very rousing song written to celebrate the Tour de France. Not on iTunes. Can’t buy the album any more. Heaven only knows what I did with my copy. (Cassette?) That reminded me of what I hate about Wikipedia, Youtube, and iTunes — they are so comprehensive that you build up the expectation that you can find everything there. But you can’t.

Leave a Reply

