I might have to take that back, Tom

I’ve never been a fan of Tom Cruise, the actor or the person. I could go into a long, boring explanation of why, but it’s really not important.

What’s important is that, when he appeared on Top Gear with Cameron Diaz last night, he came off completely unfreaky and much more personable than he has in ages. He was quite funny, very relaxed, and seemed more at ease than I think he’s been in a long time. Doing comedies seems to agree with him.

Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise on Top Gear, July 25, 2010

Dare I say it? He actually reminds me now a bit of John Barrowman, who is one of my favourite people (and who is incredibly funny). I’ve said some fairly uncharitable things about Tom over the years (pretty sure I’m not alone in that), but I think I might just have to take those back.

Incidentally, Cameron and Tom both topped the “Star in a Reasonably Priced Car” board, with Tom almost tipping the car over going around the last corner — it was worth it, though, because he beat Cameron’s time by a full second.

Tom Cruise's car on two wheels on Top Gear

Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz top the Star in a Reasonably Priced Car board

Leave a Reply

